Sweet and Salty Roasted Coconut Chips

IMG_6006

Are you guilty of picking the best parts out of the granola? I know, so am I. For some, myself included, it’s usually those nice big chunks of granola that go first, while the crumbs fall to the bottom of the bag and are eventually forgotten. We’ll talk about granola chunks another time, though. Today I want to talk about coconut. In the last batch of granola I made, there were irresistibly crunchy flakes of coconut strewn throughout, that I couldn’t help but pick out. Forget the chocolate, dates, and pecans. It was the coconut that I wanted. So much so, that I decided to roast up a batch of pure coconut goodness. Some of you may have experienced the recent phenomenon that is Trader Joe’s roasted coconut chips (I know Chelsey is in on the secret). My version is a bit different, but just as delicious (not to mention cheaper)!

I kept it simple here, with a basic sweet and salty combination, but I imagine that an addition of cinnamon, cocoa powder, or any other warming spice would be delicious. I can envision adding a dash of cayenne or chili powder to the mix and using the chips as a salad topping in place of croutons. Let me know if you try this out!

Roasted Coconut ChipsRoasted Coconut Chips

I generally buy my coconut from Nuts.com, but the brand Let’s Do Organic, which is available in most health food stores, as well as Whole Foods (at least where I live) also sells coconut flakes. 

Ingredients
•2 1/2 cups coconut flakes (not shredded coconut)
•3 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
•2 tablespoons maple syrup (or other liquid sweetener)
•1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Preheat oven to 275°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

1. Heat the applesauce, maple syrup, and salt in a small saucepan until just warm.

2. Pour applesauce mixture over coconut flakes in a medium bowl and stir until thoroughly coated.

3. Spread mixture evenly onto baking sheet, in as thin a layer as possible.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, stirring every five minutes until coconut is golden.

5. Let coconut cool completely, then store in an airtight container.

Roasted Coconut ChipsWhat are your favorite simple snacks? Lately, I’ve been making little snack plates full of these roasted coconut chips, dates, toasted pecans, and fresh fruit (I finally found Cara Cara and Blood oranges in my market!).

8 thoughts on “Sweet and Salty Roasted Coconut Chips

  1. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    Such a smart snack! I fell in love with the salted and sweetened coconut chips from Trader Joe’s but wrote them off as too expensive for regular purchasing. It didn’t even occur to me that I could make my own! Using maple sounds even better, too.

    Reply
  2. Joanne

    Oh man I’m SO bad about that! you do NOT want to share a bag of granola with me because you’ll be left with all the boring bits. 😛 I love the sound of these coconut chips!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

